Divine Dichotomy

This morning, my friend Chad (and his plott hound, Lucy) and I grabbed coffee and muffins at Panera… and he and Lucy took me to Shearon Harris Park which sits beautifully along Jordan Lake near Apex, NC (20 mins from Raleigh).

The scenery was beautiful. The temperature (as Chad pointed out) about 10 degrees cooler due to the abundant shade. I was telling him about how tempting it is to be jealous of those who’s church or ministry is “successful” while our new church community is still in its infancy. I said, “it is so easy to focus on all the things that can or should be ‘done’ to push this new community toward growth and development”. We talked about God-given, organic growth and man-made, manufactured growth.

Then Chad (who had something divine up his sleeve) led us down a path at the park (after asking me if I was afraid of snakes – to which I replied “of course not”) that revealed a bit of the natural wonder of the creation of God. After turning a corner we were led down another path that opened up into a huge field where power lines were suspended by huge steel structures. Chad told me to look to my right and for the first time in my life I saw a nuclear power plant in the distance. It was impressive, blowing it’s white, puffy smoke into the air like an old man with a pipe hanging from his lips.

We briefly spoke about the impressiveness of man-made structures vs. the awe of God’s creation. I think of it now as a sort of “divine dichotomy”… because God gives man the ability to create man-made (or, not to be sexist, “human-made”) structures (eg. the tower of Babel). That moment was etched in my mind and I think it will stay there for years to come.

While the nuke site was pretty remarkable and the power that exhales from it extends to much of the state, I asked God to help me to be amazed by His creation and what comes from His hand more than what derives from the hands of humanity. I asked Him to help me lead our community by making sure we position ourselves to grow organically as God’s creation does.

This afternoon I thought of the words of the apostle Paul, “I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow.” I thought of how easy it is to think we can do God’s part (the growing). But, I pray that I am continually reminded that I (and others) have the capability of planting and watering, but only God can make things grow.

~ by Bill Cummings on July 28, 2007.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Great post. So true bro. See you Wednesday!

  2. This was a good reminder to take notice of God’s creation every day. I was at the beach reading last week and stopped to look around at the sand and ocean in front of me and was truly amazed by what He has done.Great post my friend…glad to see you’re back blogging again !

Leave a comment